Gay Sweatshop Times Twelve

In 1987, the third festival from the company, Gay Sweatshop Times Twelve, organised by Kate Owen and Philip Osment, took place at Oval House. The festival included a 17 piece all female Big Band, erotic lesbian poetry, poetry written by black gay men and disabled gay men, cabaret from: ‘The Young Musician of the Year’ (Jessica Higgs), the Joan Collins Fan Club (Julian Clary), and Julie Felix.

The plays that were produced by Gay Sweatshop for the festival were This Island’s Mine by Philip Osment and Twice Over by Jackie Kay.

Back to Gay Sweatshop